Skip to content

Resolutions

January 5, 2016

I’m not a big fan of the new year. These days we tend to treat it like most other nights in the holidays. The kids are tired and need their beds – and so do we!

And New Years resolutions just don’t happen. Partly because for the first few days of the new year anything fresh, new routines, anything which requires enthusiasm – just aren’t going to work round here! 

After the craziness of Christmas, the house is full of bad-for-you food, we are all exhausted, we are all grumpy… We just need rest, recovery and with God’s grace have enough patience with each other to not fall out! 

It’s back to school, back to normality today and we are just about ready for that (maybe!) I did start to think about if there are things I should try to start or resolutions I should make. 

But to be honest, I’m not a fan of the whole ‘new year, new start’ thing. I think it just sets me up to fail. Because I do fail – every day. And I’m thankful that every day I can have a new start – not just on the 1 January, or today – but any day I choose to repent and receive God’s grace. 

And my resolutions are the same today as they are every day… To do my best to live life the way God asks me to, to make decisions in line with what we believe He is saying, be full of love and grace and hope and to bring life to the people and situations I find myself with. 

It doesn’t always go to plan and after a couple of weeks off I probably do need an injection of life to get me going again… But as the old year morphs into the new, life will carry on… And I’m satisfied with that… Because on the whole, life is pretty ok.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

D.L. Mayfield

living in the upside-down kingdom

Sticky Pinny

Ramblings of a food obsessed geek...

Lucie Hutson....

Mummy's Big Mission

Marker Posts and Shelters

Reflections, resources and musings on faith, spirituality, ministry, youth work, chaplaincy and the rest of life by Paul and Sally Nash

Jenny from the Block

Simple, messy city living

the good stuff

stories I am finding in the world that give me hope

Fresh and Local

Passionate about food that is locally and responsibly sourced, wholesome and fresh.

Resistance & Renewal

faith, transfomation and social justice

nathan the alien

you are welcome

