Skip to content

Doing something uncomfortable

July 23, 2014

Today, I want to follow up from my last post where I committed to try to so something uncomfortable each day.
I know it may seem a bit forced, but I actually set a reminder on my phone for each morning to remind me to do just that!!
It doesn’t mean I have quite managed it every day, but it does mean that I have been nudged. And that reminder sits there looking at me every time I look at my phone (which is quite alot!)
And it has made a difference… In the last few weeks I have visited my neighbours in their homes 3 times. I have crossed the road to chat to them a number of times, going out of my way to do so. I offered to vacuum an elderly neighbours flat (in the end her daughter did that… But I still spent an hour with her chatting). I have invited people to the estate-based lifegroup I am part of.
(And during those weeks I was in Albania for a week – not engaging with my neighbours at all… Maybe another post sometime about the things I was challenged with there!)
I’m not telling you all this to big myself up… But more to celebrate the fact that when we respond to something that has challenged us, and make a choice to act on it, we can really see thing start to change and move. And each of the things I have done has been small, manageable and enjoyable!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

D.L. Mayfield

living in the upside-down kingdom

Sticky Pinny

Ramblings of a food obsessed geek...

Lucie Hutson....

Mummy's Big Mission

Marker Posts and Shelters

Reflections, resources and musings on faith, spirituality, ministry, youth work, chaplaincy and the rest of life by Paul and Sally Nash

Jenny from the Block

Simple, messy city living

the good stuff

stories I am finding in the world that give me hope

Fresh and Local

Passionate about food that is locally and responsibly sourced, wholesome and fresh.

Resistance & Renewal

faith, transfomation and social justice

nathan the alien

you are welcome

