Skip to content

Getting uncomfortable

February 21, 2013

This lent I am doing the 40 Acts challenge. On Saturday we were challenged by @miriamswaff to ‘Get Uncomfortable’. I decided I better use the opportunity to do something I’d been avoiding, and go and knock on the doors of some neighbours I’d not met and introduce myself! This is totally not natural to me. I’m really nervous e meeting new people and feel totally useless at small talk. But seeing as I keep telling everyone I want to get to the know the neighbours, and my preferred ‘just bumping into them’ didn’t seem to be happening, I thought I’d take the bull by the horns.
As it happened, there was only a response at one of the 6 doors I knocked on… I’m probably going to have to summon my courage another day too!
But that conversation was really positive! I’m ashamed to say I cannot remember their names (another weakness I really really need to work on!!!) but I had a really good conversation with the couple, who moved here not long before us, and also met their daughter and grandaughter. I found out they love gardening and are really missing their veg patch, so Paul and I are now considering whether we could offer them a patch of our garden! Watch this space….

One Comment
  1. Nice work Zoe! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

D.L. Mayfield

living in the upside-down kingdom

Sticky Pinny

Ramblings of a food obsessed geek...

Lucie Hutson....

Mummy's Big Mission

Marker Posts and Shelters

Reflections, resources and musings on faith, spirituality, ministry, youth work, chaplaincy and the rest of life by Paul and Sally Nash

Jenny from the Block

Simple, messy city living

the good stuff

stories I am finding in the world that give me hope

Fresh and Local

Passionate about food that is locally and responsibly sourced, wholesome and fresh.

Resistance & Renewal

faith, transfomation and social justice

nathan the alien

you are welcome

